Friday, February 9, 2018

Elvis Presley: The Searcher Original Soundtrack

RCA has announced the April 6th release of the soundtrack companion for HBO's upcoming documentary.  Though the soundtrack will be available on CD and LP, there will also be a 3CD musical companion boxed set that includes original music by Mike McCready.
The 3CD deluxe box set features 37 additional Elvis cuts plus a special disc featuring selections from Mike McCready’s (Pearl Jam) original score for “Elvis Presley: The Searcher”; Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers performing “Wooden Heart”; and the music that inspired Elvis (including R&B and country classics and “Home Sweet Home” sung by his mother, Gladys Presley). The Elvis Presley: The Searcher (The Original Soundtrack) deluxe 3CD set includes a 40-page hardcover book featuring rare photography, liner notes by Warren Zanes, and a director’s note by Thom Zimny.

In his package notes for Elvis Presley: The Searcher (The Original Soundtrack), director Thom Zimny writes, “the soundtrack was in my mind from the beginning. I wasn’t just making a film, I was thinking about the collection of recordings I would gather for a person who saw the film, who wanted to complete the experience, just as I always had. Thankfully, our friends at Sony gave me and the Searcher team the chance to create this collection. It’s been in my mind for years now. To me, this collection is part of the film.”

“So, in this collection, one gets not a Greatest Hits package but a song-by-song, curated portrait of an artist,” writes Warren Zanes in the book featured in Elvis Presley: The Searcher (The Original Soundtrack [Deluxe Box Set]), “….an artist who very consistently and courageously gave himself to his performances, as if in the giving he might find some missing part of himself. The truth in his voice, in the end, was the sound of a searcher. Along the way, he built a catalogue as deep as any found in the broad and beautiful vistas of American music.”
This ultimately boils down to two original songs by Mike McCready, but the completists among us will not be able to resist.  You can pre-order the boxed set now for $40.

The tracklist for the boxed set is below.

Disc 1
1. Trouble / Guitar Man
2. My Baby Left Me
3. Baby, What You Want Me To Do
4. Old Shep
5. That’s When Your Heartaches Begin
6. That’s All Right
7. Blue Moon Of Kentucky
8. Fool, Fool, Fool
9. Tweedlee Dee
10. Baby Let’s Play House
11. Good Rockin’ Tonight
12. Trying To Get To You
13. Blue Moon
14. When It Rains It Pours
15. Blue Christmas
16. Heartbreak Hotel
17. Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
18. Money Honey
19. Hound Dog
20. (There’ll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
21. Crawfish
22. Trouble
23. Farther Along
24. Mona Lisa
25. Hide Thou Me
26. Loving You (end title take 16)
27. Lonely Man (solo version)
28. Power Of My Love

Disc 2
1. Milky White Way
2. A Mess Of Blues
3. Fame And Fortune
4. Love Me Tender / Witchcraft (duet with Frank Sinatra)
5. Like A Baby
6. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
7. It’s Now Or Never
8. Wooden Heart
9. Swing Down Sweet Chariot
10. Reconsider Baby
11. Bossa Nova Baby
12. C’mon Everybody
13. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
14. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
15. Run On
16. Baby What You Want Me To Do
17. Suspicious Minds (take 6)
18. Baby Let’s Play House (rehearsal)
19. Words (rehearsal)
20. That’s All Right
21. Never Been To Spain
22. An American Trilogy
23. You Gave Me A Mountain
24. Burning Love (rehearsal version)
25. Separate Ways (rehearsal version)
26. Hurt (take 5)
27. If I Can Dream

Disc 3
1. Dissolution 2 – Mike McCready
2. Satisfied – The Blackwood Brothers
3. That’s All Right – Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup
4. She May Be Yours But She Comes To See Me Sometimes – Joe Hill Louis
5. Mystery Train – Little Junior’s Blue Flames
6. Smokestack Lightning – Howlin’ Wolf
7. Rock-A-My Soul – The Blackwood Brothers
8. Just Walkin’ In The Rain – The Prisonaires
9. Rocket 88 – Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats
10. Write Me A Letter – The Ravens
11. Blue Moon Of Kentucky – Bill Monroe
12. Ain’t That Right – Eddie Snow
13. Just Walkin’ In The Rain – Johnnie Ray
14. Lawdy Miss Clawdy – Lloyd Price
15. Home Sweet Home – Gladys Presley
16. Blowin’ In The Wind – Odetta
17. Tomorrow Is A Long Time – Odetta
18. The Weight – The Staple Singers
19. Heartbreak Hotel – The Orlons
20. Wooden Heart – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
21. Rebound – Mike McCready