Tuesday, April 16, 2013

The Moonlander Project

Songs from the album were recorded between 2003-2011," explains Gossard. "Over the last year, I went through all of my old demos and recordings that weren’t used as Pearl Jam or Brad songs and picked my favorites. With the help of Floyd Reitsma (Studio Litho engineer), Pete Droge (Executive Producer), and Hans Teuber (multi-instrumentalist and long time Hank Khoir collaborator) I went about trying to finish them. This included lots of re-singing tracks, fleshing out and re-editing, adding new instruments...
It seems that referring to Stone Gossard's, Moonlander as a "project" rather than an "album" is very apropos.  Do not look for a Moonlander CD.  The plastic is most likely too damaging to the environment for Mr. Gossard.  Moonlander is a collection of 11 songs, written by Gossard, but featuring a bevy of impressive artists: Matt Cameron (Pearl Jam, Soundgarden), Matt Chamberlain, Regan Hagar (Brad, Malfunkshun, Satchel), Pete Droge, Brandon Harper, Gregg Keplinger, Keith Lowe, Barbara Ireland (The Fags) and Hans Teuber.  Each Tuesday for the next 11 weeks, we will be graced with a new song and accompanying artwork.
My daughter loves to paint and draw and when she would, I would as well," says Gossard. "I hope the pieces convey a sense of freedom from formal rules and of playfulness that comes from hanging with your lovely 5-year old.
The first song, I Want Something Different, was released last night and can be streamed or downloaded via SoundCloud.  The Moonlander album is scheduled for digital and limited-edition vinyl release on June 25th.  Leading up to that, Gossard will be releasing two EPs, the first of which can be pre-ordered on iTunes now, with a May 7th release date and the second of which, Luna, will follow on June 4th.  

The full Moonlander tracklisting is below:
  1. I Need Something Different
  2. Moon Landing
  3. Both Live
  4. Your Flames
  5. Battle Cry
  6. King of the Junkies
  7. Remain
  8. I Don't Want To Go To Bed
  9. Bombs Away
  10. Witch Doctor
  11. Beyond Measure