Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Ed Joins Michael Stipe, Tom Morello, and Others in Support of Net Neutrality

Eddie Vedder has joined more than 50 musicians, writers, poets, actors, and other artists, including Michael Stipe, Tom Morello, Kimya Dawson, Boots Riley, and Jill Sobule, in signing a letter to FCC Chairman Thomas Wheeler voicing opposition of his current proposed changes to net neutrality and calling them a threat to artistic freedom and integrity.  Here's a small excerpt: 
Under these rules, telecom giants like AT&T, Comcast and Verizon would be able to pick winners and losers online and discriminate against online content and applications. 
The open Internet’s impact on the creative community cannot be overstated. The Internet has enabled artists to connect directly with each other and with audiences. It has eliminated the barriers of geography and taken collaborations to new levels. And it has allowed people — not corporations — to seek out the film, music and art that moves them. 
Allowing broadband providers to control this once‐open platform shifts power away from individual artists and creators and interferes with freedom of speech and expression.
If you don't know what net neutrality is, or why it is in the news lately, it would make sense for a music news blog would take a little time to explain it to you, so here are some great videos to explain it.  

The full list of artists signing the letter are below.


Fred Armisen   
Geoff Bailey   
Jello Biafra  Sarah Browning (poet) 
Neko Case
Staceyann Chin 
Kimya Dawson: The Moldy Peaches, Antsy Pants, The Bundles, The Uncluded 
Davey D 
Michael Ealy 
Fat Wreck Chords 
Jonny 5: Flobots 
Judah Friedlander   
Rebecca Gates   
Hank Green 
Harry and the Potters 
Mark Kates: Artist Manager, Fenway Recordings 
Allison  Kilkenny & Jamie Kilstein: Citizen Radio 
Hari Kondabolu   
Wayne Kramer: MC5, Jail Guitar Doors USA 
Kronos Quartet 
The Last Internationale 
Evangeline Lilly  
David Lowery: Cracker/Camper Van Beethoven 
Jeff Mangum & Astra Taylor: Neutral Milk Hotel 
Scott McCaughey: Young Fresh Fellows, Minus 5 
Erin McKeown   
Tom Morello   
Thao Nguyen: Thao & the Get Down Stay Down 
OK Go 
Alec Ounsworth: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah 
Martín Perna: Antibalas 
Joe Perry: Aerosmith   
Billie Perry   
Boots Riley   
Rich Robinson: The Black Crowes 
Benji Rogers: Founder of Pledge Music 
Mark Ruffalo   
James Schamus 
Wallace Shawn   
Jill Sobule   
Charlie Starr: Blackberry Smoke 
Michael Stipe: R.E.M. 
Oliver Stone